Home |  News |  Conferences |  Commodities |  Publications |  Business Directory |  Resources |  Help
Go to the MEI Online homepage

Search Site:

MEI Online: General Minerals Engineering: Conference Reports: Canadian Mineral Processors 39th Annual Operators Conference


click to find out about MEI Conferences


Canadian Mineral Processors 39th Annual Operators Conference
Ottawa, Canada, January 23-25, 2007

The Canadian Mineral Processors 39th Annual Operators Conference was held from January 23-25, 2007 at the Westin Ottawa. Chairman Colin Hardie welcomed 416 delegates from 13 countries, another record attendance.

An outstanding technical program, organized by Vice Chair, John Folinsbee featuring 36 presentations including CIM Distinguished Lecturer and this year’s plenary lecturer Paul Hébert who spoke on “Prospecting the Future: Meeting Human Resources Challenges in the Canadian Minerals and Metals Industry”. A brief summary of the technical program is given below.

New Projects and Operating Improvements: Papers on the Voisey’s Bay Mill, grinding mill design for the Tenke Project, the Paracatu gold mine, ore characterization of the Aqqaluk deposit at Red Dog and the Improvement of circuit performance at BHP-Billiton’s Minera Escondida. Session Chairs - Paul Hampton and Ken Major

Comminution: Papers on grinding circuit modeling and design, SAG mill operation at Cortez, matching motor to mill torque, interactions between slurry density and grinding media size, replacement of diatomaceous earth filter aid with alpha-cellulose at the Laronde Refinery and the Turbo Pulp Lifter (TPLTM). Session Chairs - Steve Wilson and Rob Edwards

Precious Metals: Papers on Reduction of free gold losses at the Kemess Mine, lead nitrate control in cyanidation, effect of operating variables in Knelson concentrators, Kelsey centrifugal jig, Gekko’s gold ore treatment plants, the gravity recoverable gold test. Session Chairs: Rob Henderson and Fraser Bringeland

Process Applications I: Papers on Underground milling of uranium ores, infrared recognition of high sulphide and carbonaceous rocks after microwave heating, iron control in mineral processing, frother analysis, development of new frothers, the Derrick Stack SizerTM , and application of passive sonar. Session Chairs: Tom Lafreniere and Guy Deschênes

Process Modelling and Mineralogy: Papers on Validation of high fidelity simulation wear, the use of computational fluid dynamics and discrete element, flotation circuit design for Adanac Moly Corp., mineralogical evaluation of Au-Sb-As mineralization from the AD-MW Zones, Clarence Stream Property, New Brunswick, principal components analysis of ToF-SIMS data and MLA. Session Chairs: Stuart McTavish and Norm Lotter

Process Applications I: Papers on the El Mochito Mine, developments and new applications for biogenic sulphide reagent in hydrometallurgy and mineral processing, analytical surface chemistry, and improvement of mass and value balance data from the statistical benchmark model. Session Chairs - Erin Legault-Seguin and John Folinsbee.

The 7th East/West Hockey Challenge took place following the Technical Sessions on the Tuesday evening, January 23rd. Hockey enthusiasts from near and far squared off to play for the coveted Kilborn Cup at the Ottawa Civic Centre. After almost two hours of very fast and exiting hockey, the game ended in the East edging out the West and retaining the title with a score of 4-3.

Annual CMP Business Meeting

At the Annual CMP Business Meeting, held on the Wednesday morning, nominees for officers of the CMP for 2006/2007 were as follows:

  • Past Chair: Colin Hardie
  • Chair: John Folinsbee
  • 1st Vice-Chair: Ian Orford
  • 2nd Vice-Chair: Robert Henderson
  • Secretary: Janice Zinck
  • Treasurer: Ray MacDonald

The CMP Regional Representatives are as follows:

  • Maritime: Jodi Passmore
  • Superior: Erin Legault-Seguin
  • Toronto: Stuart McTavish
  • Central Ontario: Dominic Fragomeni
  • N.W.: Quebec Jean Cayouette
  • N.E. Ontario: Nancy Duquet-Harvey
  • Manitoba: Gerry Connaughton
  • Montreal: Jean-François Wilhemly
  • Saskatchewan: Ken Dyck
  • B.C./Yukon: Mike McLeavy
  • Alberta/N.W.T/Nunavut: JohnPaul Portelli

CMP Board of Directors 2006/2007
(L to R - Front Row: Janice Zinck, Lucky Amaratunga, Ray MacDonald, Colin Hardie, Chuck Edwards; Back Row - John Starkey, Stuart McTavish, Jodi Roberts, Ian Orford, Mike McLeavy, John Folinsbee, Erin Legault-Seguin, Jan Nesset, Ernie Marcotte.


Ian Orford, Technical Program Chairman for 2006/2007 issued the 1st Call for Papers for the 39th Annual Canadian Mineral Processors Operators Conference to be held January 22-24, 2008, in Ottawa, Ontario.

Conference Information and Proceedings

The proceedings (CD + text) are available for $75 Cdn. (S&H incl.) from Wesley Griffith, Registrar (wesgriff@nrcan.gc.ca, 613-996-8985) or through our secure site at page-secure.com/cmpontario/order.html. For further information on the CMP please contact Janice Zinck (jzinck@nrcan.gc.ca, 613-995-4221).




Click for more info on Flotation '21

Select the list(s) you'd like to join below, enter your email address, choose a content format and click "Join."
[more info]

MEI Online Update
MEI Online Job Vacancies


© 1998-2017, Minerals Engineering International

Email: amanda@min-eng.com