Home |  News |  Conferences |  Commodities |  Publications |  Business Directory |  Resources |  Help
Go to the MEI Online homepage

Search Site:

MEI Online: People News: North America: May 13th 2010


click to find out about MEI Conferences


:: CIM Announces 2010 Award Winners

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) announced the winners of its annual CIM Awards at a gala dinner on May 10 in Vancouver during the CIM Conference and Exhibition. The annual awards recognize minerals industry leaders for their outstanding contributions in various fields.

“The resilience and the determination of our people make Canada’s extractive resource industry a global force to be reckoned with," says Jean Vavrek, CIM Executive Director. “The celebration and recognition of excellence within the minerals industry is a tradition of which CIM is extremely proud."

Among CIM’s most prestigious awards, the CIM Distinguished Service Medal was awarded to James L. Popowich, of Vernon, BC. Mr. Popowich, retired President and CEO of Elk Valley Coal and 2007-2008 CIM Past President, received this award for his enthusiastic leadership in reshaping CIM’s governance policies.

The Vale Inco Medal was presented to Robert A. Quartermain, retired President and CEO of Silver Standard Ressources Inc., Vancouver, BC. Mr. Quartermain received this award for his visionary leadership in the mining industry.

The Selwyn G. Blaylock Medal was presented to Phillip J. Mackey, President, P.J. Mackey Technology Inc., Montreal, QC. Mr. Mackey received this award for contributions in extractive metallurgy and for mentoring several generations of engineers.

Launched this year, the CIM-Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award encourages and accelerates leadership in mining by recognizing outstanding achievement and potential of young Canadian mining leaders. The award went to three deserving recipients:

  • Paul Blatter, Metallurgy Superintendant, Agnico-Eagle Mines Limited, Cadillac, QC
  • Jim Sarvinis, Global Managing Director, Thermal Energy, Hatch Ltd., Oakville, ON
  • Bernard Tan, CFO, Hunter Dickinson Inc., Vancouver, BC

Open pdf for complete list of award winners:

Award winners [PDF]


You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this file.
Click the logo to download this free software.

Click here to download Adobe Acrobat Reader


For further information, please contact jvavrek@cim.org




Click for more info on Flotation '19

MEI Blog: for the latest gossip

Select the list(s) you'd like to join below, enter your email address, choose a content format and click "Join."
[more info]

MEI Online Update
MEI Online Job Vacancies


© 1998-2017, Minerals Engineering International

Email: amanda@min-eng.com